Harworth Church of England Academy - 2018/2019

Harworth Church of England Academy

Amazing news - we are in the top 1% of primary schools for reading for our end of key stage 2 results!

“Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6

Democracy, Rule of Law, Mutual Respect, Tolerance and Individual Liberty

Academic Year 2018/2019

Democratic vote for the election of our School Council Members (three times a year)

Continuation of our Lifesavers project throughout the year

We have visits from The Education Life Bus throughout the year talking about many different topics to all the children in our school

Stay and Learn visits happen each term where parents have the opportunity to work alongside their child in class and attend our whole school Merit Assembly.

September

Licensing of Reverend Nicky (Monday 17th September)

Bikeability Year 4 (Tuesday 18th September)

Y5 Visit to Perlethorpe - Victorians (Wednesday 19th September)

Y1 Visit to the Butterfly House (Thursday 20th September)

Roald Dahl Day Y4 

Y6 Visit to the National Coal Mining Museum (Tuesday 25th September)

Y5 Theatre Visit to watch Oliver Twist at Cast Theatre (Tuesday 25th September)

Y4 Visit to Cadbury World (Thursday 27th September)

Macmillan coffee morning for parents (Friday 28th September)

October

Y2 Visit to Potteric Carr (Monday 1st October)

Harvest Festival - donations to Bassetlaw Food Bank (Thursday 4th October)

Foundation Stage Visit to Clumber Park (Wednesday 10th October)

Reverend Frank led Collective Worship about recycling (Monday 15th October)

Y3 Visit to Brackenhurst - Stone Age (Wednesday 17th October)

KS2 Cyberbullying workshops by Life Education (Tuesday 23rd October)

Remembrance Assembly led by Ann Hickman to launch the Poppy Appeal (Wednesday 24th October)

Stay and Learn (Friday 26th October)

November 

Y6 Visit to Southwell to celebrate 100 years since World War I  (Thursday 8th November)

Parents shopping trip to York (10th November)

Y4 Visit to Perlethorpe to learn about the Pilgrim Fathers (Wednesday 14th November)

Children raise money for Children in Need (Friday 16th November) 

Y4 had a visit from Junk4Fun (Friday 23rd November)

December

Y6 had a visit from Konflux Theatre to produce a Recycling Play in a Day (Monday 3rd December)

Christmas Fayre organised by HAPPI group (Monday 10th December)

Y2 and Y3 singing performances to families (Tuesday 11th December)

Reindeer visited school (Wednesday 12th December)

Christmas Jumper Day for Save the Children (Friday 14th  December)

Year 6 children visit Brailsford House Care Home to perform Christmas carols (Monday 17th December)

Christmas Parties (Tuesday 18th and Wednesday 19th December)

Elfridges organised by HAPPI (Thursday 20th December)

Foundation Stage, Key Stage 1 and Year 3 performed the Nativity (Friday 21st December)

Whole school make individual Christingles and take part in Christingle service during the afternoon (Friday 21st December)

January 

Children from year 4 - 6 took part in the Young Voices Concert at Sheffield Arena (Wednesday 9th January)

School Council organised a Purple Day to raise money for Bluebell Wood (Friday 11th January)

Daily Boosts started to give our brains a quick break (Monday 14th January)

Y4 visit from the Vikings (Tuesday 15th January)

Year 6 children visit the Holocaust Museum (Tuesday 22nd January)

Silver Artsmark awarded (Thursday 24th January)

February

 

Stay and Learn (Friday 15th February)

Y5 Tenor Horn Performance for families (Friday 15th February)

March

Everyone dressed up as their favourite book character to celebrate World Book Day (Thursday 7th March)

Under 11 Girl's won the final at Harworth Colliery (Saturday 9th March)

Y5 Bikeability (Week beginning Monday 11th March)

Comic Relief - non uniform to raise money for the charity (Friday 15th March)

Y5 visited Belton House - the setting for their book 'Moondial' (Tuesday 19th March)

Stay and Learn (Friday 22nd March)

April

Y5 Taster Day at Serlby Park 

DARE programme begins for Year 6.

 

Please see our Twitter Feed for the rest of the year's events.